Company report

Is GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent) owned by private equity?

Private equity owned?
YES

Last checked Oct 8, 2026

GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent)gails.com

GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent) is currently listed as private-equity-owned.

Ownership & Acquisition History

Current ownerGAIL'S LIMITED (06055393) is controlled (75%+ shares) by Bread Limited (06186850), which is controlled (75%+ shares) by Bread Acquisitions Limited. Bread Holdings Limited (07570780)—the wider group parent referenced in GAIL’s group statements—is controlled (75%+ shares/votes) by Grain Bidco Limited (13572428) within the Grain Topco/Midco/Bidco acquisition structure. Ultimate sponsor-level beneficial owners are not disclosed on Companies House for Grain Topco; public deal announcements describe Bain Capital investing in Bread Holdings in partnership with EBITDA Investments (and other investors are referenced by GAIL’s materials).
Private equity ownerBain Capital (in partnership with EBITDA Investments; other minority/partner investors referenced publicly include McWin Capital Partners / McWin and Luke Johnson).
PE ownership date2021-10-05
Company foundedearly 1990s by Gail Mejia in Hendon, London, England

GAIL’s is private-equity-owned as part of the Bread Holdings/Grain Topco structure created in 2021 and publicly described as a Bain Capital-led (with partners) investment, even though ultimate sponsor-level control is not individually disclosed on Companies House for Grain Topco.

Notes

  • Entity/jurisdiction resolution (UK): GAIL’s website privacy policy identifies the website/operator as GAIL’S LIMITED (England), company number 06055393, establishing the UK legal entity to escalate in the official registry trail.
  • Companies House PSC trail (operating company): GAIL'S LIMITED (06055393) lists Bread Limited as its Person with Significant Control with ownership of shares of 75% or more (notified 6 April 2016).
  • Companies House PSC trail (intermediate parent): Bread Limited (06186850) lists Bread Acquisitions Limited as its PSC with ownership of shares of 75% or more (notified 6 April 2016).
  • Group parent/control change (2021): Bread Holdings Limited (07570780) lists Grain Bidco Limited (13572428) as its active PSC with 75%+ shares/votes and director-appointment rights (notified 5 October 2021), consistent with an acquisition holding structure.
  • Topco disclosure limitation: Grain Topco Limited (13572366) files an active PSC statement that it has no registrable PSC/RLE (notified 18 August 2021), so Companies House does not disclose ultimate beneficial owners at the top of the chain.
  • Corroboration of acquisition structure: GAIL’s published group tax strategy lists the Grain Topco/Midco/Bidco entities alongside Bread Holdings Limited and operating subsidiaries, corroborating the existence of the Grain acquisition stack above Bread entities.
  • Deal-sponsor corroboration: Bain Capital’s September 14, 2021 announcement describes an investment in Bread Holdings (parent of GAIL’s) in partnership with EBITDA Investments, supporting classification as private-equity-owned despite the topco PSC disclosure limitation.
  • UK Companies House shows Bread Holdings Limited’s person-with-significant-control as Grain Bidco Limited with 75%+ of shares and voting rights (notified 5 Oct 2021), indicating control via a holding company rather than a directly named sponsor.
  • The Bain Capital announcement (14 Sep 2021) describes an investment in Bread Holdings (parent of GAIL’s) by Bain Capital in partnership with EBITDA Investments, consistent with a PE-led transaction.
  • GAIL’s own 'About Us' page states that no single person or business has a majority stake and lists investors including Bain Capital, McWin Capital Partners, and Luke Johnson—this conflicts with the common framing of a single PE majority owner and makes current PE 'control' ambiguous.
  • Founding information is supported by GAIL’s own corporate materials describing the business beginning in the early 1990s and naming Gail Mejia.

Sources

Ownership FAQ

Is GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent) owned by private equity?

Yes. GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent) is currently listed as private-equity-owned by Bain Capital (in partnership with EBITDA Investments; other minority/partner investors referenced publicly include McWin Capital Partners / McWin and Luke Johnson)..

Who owns GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent)?

GAIL'S LIMITED (06055393) is controlled (75%+ shares) by Bread Limited (06186850), which is controlled (75%+ shares) by Bread Acquisitions Limited. Bread Holdings Limited (07570780)—the wider group parent referenced in GAIL’s group statements—is controlled (75%+ shares/votes) by Grain Bidco Limited (13572428) within the Grain Topco/Midco/Bidco acquisition structure. Ultimate sponsor-level beneficial owners are not disclosed on Companies House for Grain Topco; public deal announcements describe Bain Capital investing in Bread Holdings in partnership with EBITDA Investments (and other investors are referenced by GAIL’s materials).

When was GAIL'S LIMITED (UK operating company) / Bread Holdings Limited (group parent) last checked?

This page was last checked on Oct 8, 2026.